Make Poverty History?

The End of PovertyI recalled I wrote a blog about the book “The End of Poverty” by Jeff Sachs. I bought it while travelling in Singapore. The title grabbed me immediately as something relevant for my country, the Philippines and timely as in right now.

I will not attempt to make a book review here but I want to say that the book did something to me. Sort of call-to-action, get your butt moving and do something, not later but NOW.

So I did a couple of things:

  • Signed up for the ONE Campaign
  • Signed up with Kiva.org (though I haven’t lent anyone yet). I’m studying it as a model to get it happening here in the Philippines.
  • Met with my pilot friend, Joel Legaspi, to possibly send students from Polilio Islands to college through a scholarship grant. The Pililio Islands are located in Infanta, Quezon Province. The Flying Medical Samaritans (Joel formerly work) mostly flew in by plane to bring relief goods through the FMS (Flying Medical Samaritans). This student scholarship hasn’t happened yet because we were still connecting with partner schools here in Manila. Seems to have hit a dead-end on this project. But we are still high hopes.
  • I didn’t look far. Among our relatives and friends, helping them financially helps a long, long way.

Though I am still struggling with my own lack at times, it is marginalized by the fact that some people don’t even have a roof on top of their heads or a bed to sleep on yet here I am whining about a little discomfort here and there.

It’s humbling to see how blessed you really are.

Though Jeff Sachs (the book author), was very optimistic that if we put our efforts together, we can end poverty by the year 2025 (or earlier). I hope we all do our part. This is a starting conversation for the Blog Action Day. Let’s do something NOW!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

